
Historic Homes Tour of Taieri 2021
Held Sunday 7th March, 2021
SOLD OUT
In March 2021 we had a total of 15 locations on a self drive tour of the North Taieri area. Some of the homes that were open are listed below.
What was included?
Glen Lyon
Built in 1861, this restored stone cottage on the edge of the north taieri plain was a popular stop
Mayfield
A just completed top to toe restoration by its present owner has resulted in this this Bush Rd property retaining its original external appearance, while inside is as modern as they come.
Gladstenbury
Of Baltic Pine construction, and built by Gilbert Buchanan in 1858.
Buchanan was one of our earliest settlers, having arrived in 1848 on the Phillip Laing
North Taieri Manse
Through ongoing application over the years, the present owners have managed to restore and maintain the integrity and original appearance of this home, so that today is in as good a condition and as liveable as when first built in 1867.
Salisbury Woolshed
Built by early settler Donald Reid in the early 1870’s.
Is probably the earliest example of integrated covered yards still in use today
Salisbury Lodge Grounds
Great stop where you could walk up the curved drive to view the magnificent grounds and gardens, with delightful paths and turns to reveal new surprises.
Findlayston
Built by John Findlay prior to his 1870 marriage, and with a totara frame, this early Taieri homestead has been modernised internally, while retaining its original exterior charm and appearance.
A unique feature was the old stables with their brick lined floor.
The Retreat
Built in 1882 as the local doctors residence, has been maintained in its original condition, with picture rails, the push buttons for summoning staff from the kitchen, and separate front entrance to the doctors surgery.
East Taieri Manse
Still retaining its wonderful 3D cornices and other decor from when it was the centre of parish life.
East Taieri Church
Designed by renowned architect R A Lawson with building completed in 1867 at a cost of £700.
A majestic building with its imposing stained glass windows
And a number of other fascinating locations
Islington, dating from 1912, in its magnificent grounds with its 150 year old trees, and rose garden
Wairongoa Springs, with its unique carbonated water spring, and fountains
Balmoral, built in 1857 by Donald Borrie, who operated the river ferry at Outram, and now wonderfully restored by Kathy & Neville Ferguson